American Crossword Puzzle Tournament

 Crossword Tournament

31st ACPT • February 29-March 2, 2008
Tyler Hinman
Don Christensen
Four-time Champion Tyler Hinman


  1. Tyler Hinman
  2. Trip Payne
  3. Howard Barkin
  4. Ellen Ripstein
  5. Al Sanders
  6. Roger Barkan
  7. Francis Heaney
  8. Jon Delfin
  9. Kiran Kedlaya
  10. Scott Weiss

B division

  1. Anne Erdmann
  2. Doug Peterson
  3. Peter Gordon

C division

  1. Dan Feyer
  2. Emily O'Neill
  3. Adam Gale
See left panel for full results.
Updated 3/18/08

Have a question about your score? Write to us and we'll look into it.

Capsule History

For the first time the tournament was held outside Stamford, Conn — at the spacious Brooklyn Bridge Marriott in New York City. The evening activities included a Brooklyn-themed crossword extravaganza by Eric Berlin, a spoof documentary "Wordploy" by Ed Stein, and a game "1 vs. 700" by John Chaneski and Greg Pliska, based on TV's "1 vs. 100." The inaugural Marilyn F. Munro Memorial Prize was awarded to the constructor whom the contestants named, by their votes, as creator of their favorite crossword of the weekend. The winner was Merl Reagle for "If I Wrote the Dictionary." A new age division was added for solvers 80 years and over, won by Miriam Raphael, champion of the second ACPT in 1979, and the winner of more trophies in ACPT history than anyone else. The prizes were presented by Grant Barrett and Martha Barnette of public radio's "A Way With Words." Tyler Hinman, 23, became the first person to win the tournament four times in a row.

Will Shortz

Capsule history of all 31 years.


To purchase a DVD of the tournament for only $5, provided by Nancy Shack, click the "Buy DVD" button.

Pictures from the Tournament


More stuff

In the News

Officials — 2008

DirectorWill Shortz
CoordinatorHelene Hovanec
Chief ScorersFred Piscop, Mel Rosen, Jamaica Jones
WebmasterDoug Heller
Database PreparerJoe Cabrera
Online Tournament ManagerPeter Ritmeester
PhotographerDon Christensen
NametagsMike Shenk
Playoff AnnouncersGrant Barrett and Merl Reagle
Prize PresentersGrant Barrett and Martha Barnette
Judges and referees (in alphabetical order)Deb Amlen, Sally Andersen, Liz Donovan, Evie Eysenburg, Paula Gamache, Elizabeth Gorski, Doug Heller, Meg Hine, Joan Hume, Maura Jacobson, Jamaica Jones, Casey Julia, David Kahn, Shawn Kennedy, Joan Kuhn, Pat Merrell, Andrea Carla Michaels, Stan Newman, Jim Page, Nancy Parsons, Karen Powell, Brendan Quigley, Merl Reagle, David Rosen, Peggy Rosen, Randy Ross, Nancy Schuster, Mike Shenk, Rich Silvestri, Dan Stark, Ashish Vengsarkar, Bruce Venzke, Byron Walden, Susan West, Brad Wilber, Jen Yuan, friends from the Chappaqua (NY) Public Library, friends from the Westport (CT) Public Library, and others

Write to Us